Overwatch 2 ranking system: how do competitive rankings work?

Overwatch 2 brings a ton of changes to make the gaming experience more enjoyable. In particular, Overwatch 2’s ranking system has changed a lot. So, you might be confused at first; To clear things up, we’ve compiled this guide to help you understand the OW2 ranking system.

Overwatch 2 Ranking System is a whole new concept compared to what was incorporated in the previous iteration of Overwatch. Not only have the requirements to play ranked changed now, but also new rank levels as well as the number of matches required for placements.

How to Unlock Competitive Play

In Overwatch 2, unless you’re a veteran, you won’t have access to competitive play from the start. To unlock competitive play, you will need to complete First user experience – Win 50 Quick Play encounters.

However, if you’re a veteran and playing on the same account you used to grind the original Overwatch, you’ll be able to jump right into competitive play.

This will give beginners time to prepare and prepare for competitive play while allowing veteran players to compete against experienced players like themselves.

How does Competitive Ranking work in Overwatch 2?

Competitive mode is completely different from what you saw in the original Overwatch. For beginners in the new Overwatch 2 ranking system, you will not immediately be assigned a rank based on the previous OW rank.

Overwatch 2 Competitive Play will only rank you when you have at least 7 wins Where 20 losses. Additionally, the SR has also been removed from the scene and you will no longer be rated on a single match basis.

Instead, you will only be promoted or demoted through the ranks after 7 wins or 20 losses. The idea is to rate a player on his consistency rather than his performance in a single game.

Competitive game Overwatch 2 must offer two different rankings, one for the Role Queue and the other for the Open queue.

Role Queue

In OW2, the role queue has some kind of predefined team composition and you are limited to it. It limits you to one tank, two damage, and two supports.

In the role queue, you have the option to select which roles you want to queue for and play matches to receive an individual ranking for each role.

Open Queue

In OW2, the open queue does not limit you to any team composition. Instead, you can choose the class you want and compete in matches.

In the open queue, you can choose the hero of your choice and win matches to receive a universal ranking.

OW2 Ranking Tier Breakdown

In addition to the player count changes, Overwatch’s SR system is also completely removed. In its place, OW2 players now progress through different rating tiers and skill divisions. Experienced FPS players might have seen a somewhat similar system in Riot’s Valorant.

Here is the breakdown of Skill Tiers and Divisions in Competitive Overwatch 2.


  • Bronze 5
  • Bronze 4
  • Bronze 3
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 1


  • Silver 5
  • Silver 4
  • Silver 3
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 1


  • Gold 5
  • Gold 4
  • Gold 3
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 1


  • Platinum 5
  • Platinum 4
  • Platinum 3
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 1


  • Diamond 5
  • Diamond 4
  • Diamond 3
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 1


  • Master 5
  • Master 4
  • Master 3
  • Master 2
  • Master 1

Grand Master

  • Grandmaster 5
  • Grandmaster 4
  • Grandmaster 3
  • Grand Master 2
  • Grand Master 1

Besides the Grand Master, there is the Top 500 leaderboard that includes the top 500 players from a particular region.

Players from Bronze to Diamond rank can group up with others as long as they are within 2 levels of each other. Master rank players can queue with friends who are within 1 level of each other while Grandmasters are limited to playing with those within 3 divisions.

Since OW2 places more emphasis on consistency, it also features a decay mechanic that will lower your rank over time if you take a break from OW2.

So when you return to the game, you’ll start on a lower rank which will help get you back on track if you get rusty. Also, since you will have the same skill level, you will be able to progress through the ranks quickly.

Competitive Gaming Rewards

In Overwatch 2, you will receive Competitive Points (CP) for your wins and draws and the highest skill level.

These competitive points can be used to unlock golden weapons for old heroes and newly introduced characters: Kiriko, Junker Queen and Sojourn.

The number of Competitive Points you get will be determined by the maximum rank you have achieved in a season. Although you get a small number of Competitive Points in OW2 after each win or tie, the bulk of Competitive Points will be awarded at the end of the season.

Apart from competition points, you will also get different titles for completing a certain number of games. Here are the titles you get for completing the number of games.

  • Adept Competitor – 250 games
  • Seasoned Competitor – 750 games
  • Expert Competitor – 1,750 games

Comments are closed.